Spam

I get a lot of spam in my WordPress install here, 99% of which you’d never even have a chance to see, as it all gets dumped into a moderated spam folder on my admin dash. Most days I will just login, navigate to the spam section, click the little button that says “Remove all spam”, and be done with it. I might even think about searching for better plugins to install to help me control and manage the spam so I don’t even have to see it if it weren’t for one amusing little quirk:

Most of the spam comments I receive are amazingly flattering. They tell me how wonderful my content is, and how this post or that post helped them find the information they need. Of course, it is all automated and so generic as to be laughable, but still, it kinda feels nice to have these “yes bots” around me… even if it is just for an amusing giggle as I delete them all. I just can’t bring myself to completely block them.

My hidden spam keeps me happy and sane, and that is a public service to you all. You’re welcome ;)

image credit: (cc)  Some rights reserved by wiennat


from The Wayward Celt http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/TheWaywardCelt/~3/TZZCOU-_1Z0/spam

Leave a Reply

